VR!

I got to use virtual reality today and it was SO COOL! I was visiting Legacy Academy to talk tech with some of their staff and they had just gotten their VR system. Before now I was like, “ya whatever, VR is probably cool, but meh.” You really can’t comprehend what it’s like until you’ve tried it and it’s crazy. We were in a fairly small conference room, but I was walking on the surface of mars and plotting points on a graph on the x, y, AND Z AXIS! I could literally get lost in this for hours, and it was just my first taste.

You really can’t comprehend what it’s like until you’ve tried it, and it’s crazy. We were in a fairly small conference room, but I was walking on the surface of mars and plotting points on a graph on the x, y, AND Z AXIS! I could literally get lost in this for hours, and it was just my first taste.

Walking around I was aware that I was still in a conference room. Other people in the room were talking, I could feel the cord from the glasses on the ground, I was trying not to run into anything (but they have cool systems in place to help you not run into anything.) But it’s so easy to get fully absorbed in whatever world you happen to be exploring. And I wasn’t even wearing headphones. I could only imagine what that would have been like.

And of course, I’m already thinking about what I can do with my students in this. I teach astronomy and there are already TONS of space to be explored on VR. It is SO HARD to teach little kids the concept of the scale of space when every picture you google looks like this: INACCURATE! (I’m writing in all caps a lot in this post because I’m really excited!)

solar_system_menu

(side note, I take my kids to CU Boulder to walk the mile long scale model of the solar system, and this video does a good job demonstrating the correct scale as well.)

BUT with virtual reality, my kids could LITERALLY (I get annoyed when people use that incorrectly, but I really mean literally with vr) walk on the surface of Mars and see the Curiosity Rover. SO COOL!!!

And this is just the beginning. I’m sure that there will be more educational content rolled out as teachers get their hands on this. From solving math problems to drawing. From to astronomy to virtual field trips: I think the possibilities are endless and I’m so excited to see what happens with it.

(I promise I’m not making a commission off this, I just think it’s awesome new tech.)

Leave a Reply

