Feng Shui

Back when I had 25 desks in my classroom, I would re-arrange all the furniture often. I might keep the way the desks were set up, but mix up where the students sat, or I might do a different desk arrangement, or I might move everything in my classroom around! I literally had to move something about every two weeks, which sounds insane, I know.

Feng Shui is a Chinese philosophical system of harmonizing everyone with the surrounding environment. I guess I never really felt good about the arrangement of my classroom. (Probably too many desks and not enough space.) I was always looking for ways to move things around to make it feel homier, more spacious, and to give the students more floor space to work on… or maybe I just get bored when things stay the same for too long… Anyway…

I don’t have desks anymore, and the arrangement of my classroom had stayed the same for 2 whole months, which is definitely a record for me. But I started to get that itch to move things around. So here’s what I did:

IMG_5836

I put the legs back on my whiteboard table and made it my desk. Now kids can sit at my desk and I can work with them there. I can’t pull a whole group, but when I do groups I usually just sit on the floor with them.

IMG_5837

I pulled the couch away from the wall and put my tall skinny table behind it for standing. (Although the kids have to stand at this spot, because if they sit they kind of disappear.) I also have three desks without legs in front to replace the whiteboard table that used to sit there.

IMG_5838

I also have two brown tables for the kids to sit/stand at. I really like how the library turned out. You can’t see it very well here, but it’s all organized and in the nook to the left of the couch.

How often do you rearrange your classroom? 

Leave a Reply

