Ready or not, here it comes! Back to School!

I love my summers as much as the next teacher, or third grader for that matter. It is time for me to recharge and sleep in and go to the bathroom whenever I want. But there is something magical about the end of summer, and I think a lot of it has to do with the anticipation of going back to school.

It should have tipped me off that I was destined to be a teacher by the fact that I love school supply shopping. It was like Christmas in July.

Now it’s this time of year that I start doing all the fun little things to get ready for school: writing in my planner,

image1     image2

We usually go with Erin Condren for our planners, which we still love, but they are just so expensive. So this year we found a template on Etsy that we downloaded and printed. It seems great so far! 

designing our third grade website,

Untitled1

I’m such a tech person, I love working on our website and making it colorful, fun, and user friendly for our parents. 

and reorganizing my classroom.

IMG_3434Deskless classroom, year 2, here we go! There will be a couch under the blue bulletin board. 

And laying around all summer is great, but I’m also excited to just be back in my daily routine:  getting up at the same time every day, having lunch at the same time every day, etc. I also take way more steps and drink way more water during the school year. Routine is good for us, and it’s good for kids too.

 

Are you ready/excited to go back to school? What for? 

2 responses to “Ready or not, here it comes! Back to School!

  1. I can’t wait to go back! School is my favorite place to be …most of the time. Haha! I’m looking forward to meeting my new coworkers and students! I have new goals for the year and can’t wait to start working towards them!

  2. Tiffany Painter

    I love the week before the kids come. It is full of the maximum amount of hope for a great year. For that one week, all of my planning is still going my way. I get to be selfish and be right all of the time. When the students are added to the mix, the year becomes a mix of flexibility and compromise. I will spend the next nine months working for the kids, but for one week, I love enjoying that anticipation. Also, the room is never quite as clean.

Leave a Reply

