My Favorite Books!

Summer is an excellent time to read and I LOVE to read! Here is my GoodReads account.

Here are some of my favorite teacher books: 

51c7vKRzfFL._AA160_51svEql0jkL._AA160_Teach Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess and Learn Like a Pirate by Paul Solarz– I have whole other tabs and blog posts regarding these two books. They are super inspirational and contain some really exciting new ways to teach that I can’t wait to try! They involve making instruction engaging and exciting, and relinquishing control over to your students to make them take charge of their own learning.

41r7dn2oBJL._SX352_BO1,204,203,200_The Third Teacher- A lot of my ideas for my crazy deskless classroom came from this book. It has a lot of information for people building schools, but there are things you can apply to your already built school.

.

51jE3nQrnmL._AA160_

32 Third Graders and a Class Bunny (and its sequel, Close Encounters of the Third Grade Kind) by Phillip Done- These books are hilarious stories from the author’s experience teaching. Any teacher will totally relate. My favorite story is when he gets his tie caught in the laminating machine 😉

519xZgWre1L._SX348_BO1,204,203,200_Leadership Coaching for Educators by Karla Reiss- I love working with teachers and giving PD classes, so coaching is something I am very interested in. This is a really good, practical guide to coaching other teachers.

.

Here are some of my favorite books to read aloud to my third graders: I always try to align my read alouds to our curriculum: 

51rOK+cTYwL._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis– This one doesn’t align, but I like to read it first because it is one of my favorite books and I can show the kids my passion for reading. If the kids enjoy this book I sometimes read them Prince Caspian, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, or the Silver Chair also.

Pdownloadercy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan– This book takes a long time to get through, but the kids really love it. We study Ancient Rome. This book has a lot to do with Ancient Greece which my students study in second grade, so we do a lot of compare and contrast. We also study astronomy and can make many comparisons in mythology.

51NTmKpsfnL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_My America: Elizabeth’s Jamestown Diary by Patricia Hermes- I am always surprised that the kids like this story since historical fiction is not my personal favorite, but they get really invested Elizabeth’s life and they get a really good first person view of what life was like in the early stages of the 13 colonies.

.

51cTIpSJacL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_The BFG by Roald Dahl– We do a book club where all the students are reading different Roald Dahl books, so I read this aloud during that unit.

.

.

614+9RogOVL._SX338_BO1,204,203,200_Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein- This book doesn’t exactly align, but it talks all about books and libraries, so I squeeze it in when I have time. It was a finalist for the National Children’s Book award last year.

.

download (1)Peter Pan (abridged) by JM Barrie– One of our units is Classics and all the kids are reading different Classic Start books, so I read Peter Pan at that time.

.

.

51hHgyrI1PL._SX335_BO1,204,203,200_The School Story by Andrew Clements- We write personal narratives at the beginning of the year and I read this book at that time. It’s a great personal narrative as well as a great “you can do anything you put your mind to” kind of book.

.

51+cRtNBUyL._AA160_Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica George Day– I read this one while we are writing fairy tales.

.

.

And for good measure, here are some of my all time favorite books and series, completely unrelated to school, in no particular order: 

51telt3xSoL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis 

.

.

.

41v5r8HSynL._SY240_BO1,204,203,200_The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling 

.

Percy JacksonThe Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan 

.

.

.

516eMLHT9DL._AA160_The Austin Family Series by Madeleine L’Engle 

.

.

.

51lB-mUx9KL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare 

.

.

.

51-2eilnVbL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth 

.

.

.

511UE0Uq4KL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

.

.

.

51Q+CphZ7rL._SX340_BO1,204,203,200_Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist 

.

.

.

51DxkexIVJL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_On the Shoulders of Hobbits by Louis Markos 

.

.

.

51FXbatBjaL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_The Screwtape Letters by CS Lewis 

.

.

.

41-pfQ2q+UL._SX305_BO1,204,203,200_True Believer by Nicholas Sparks 

.

.

.

There are a million-trillion links in this post, if any of them aren’t working please let me know! Thanks! 

What are your favorite teacher books, read aloud books, and just for fun books? 

Leave a Reply

