Going Above and Beyond

Going above and beyond sounds like a lot of hard work. And it usually is. But it’s also usually worth it.

Every year a group of teachers puts together an act for our student talent show. This year I really wasn’t feeling it. I was planning on ducking out of staff meeting early and avoiding it. I have enough on my plate, right? But my teammate, Tiffany, was very persistent in getting me to reluctantly participate. And I’m so glad she did, because it was awesome! This particular instance of going above and beyond didn’t require that much extra effort. Dominique choreographed and Stevie picked up glow sticks. I had to show up to exactly two practices and I had to round up a black shirt and pants, which I already had. That’s it! With that minimal amount of work, we pulled off a killer act.

We covered ourselves in glow sticks so that we looked like stick figures, turned all the lights out, and danced to ABC by the Jackson 5.

IMG_3339

Here’s what we looked like in the light: pretty silly.

IMG_3334

We even got laughed at by some middle schoolers walking by as we got ready and walked through the halls to the gym. Oh well 🙂

After I went back into the gym still in my costume to pick my class up, I got so many compliments. Even boys I had a hard time connecting with this year told me I was cool. Just like that, I was in! (I wish I had figured this out earlier in the school year, haha)

In any case, Tiffany and I are already planning our beginning of year third grade lip sync video for the fall in the hopes that we pull in some of those hard to connect with kids the very first week of school.

Here it is for your viewing pleasure, The Glow Man Group:

2 responses to “Going Above and Beyond

  1. Tiffany Painter

    It is going to be a great year! I’m glad you did it too.

  2. I love it! I may be stealing this awesome idea!!!

Leave a Reply

