Abbott and Costello in 3rd Grade

I feel that it is my duty to educate my students on culture and entertainment from the past. So I was super excited when my teammate Cathy suggested we show our math classes the Abbott and Costello routine 7 x 13 = 28. I require my math students to figure out multiple ways to solve math problems and this comedy skit was perfect to show them. I also like to give them problems solved incorrectly and have them figure out what went wrong and how to fix it. These kind of critical thinking skills are great for my kids.

Then for language arts we discuss language and pronouns by watching Abbott and Costello’s Who’s On First.

And this is entirely my opinion, but I really dislike cartoons nowadays and how they cater to short attention spans and have a serious lack of morals overall. So during indoor recess and anytime I can tie it to my curriculum I let my kids watch shows from my childhood like Chip and Dale Rescue Rangers, Gummi Bears, Bill Nye the Science Guy, Reading Rainbow, Magic School Bus, and Wishbone. I have got to prove to my kids that there are better forms of entertainment out there than Spongebob Squarepants.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

