A Window into Tech Class

 

At school today I forfeited a few minutes of my precious plan time to poke my head into technology class. My kids were practicing following directions, math and measurement, computer programing, and working together. They were programing robots.

I know you must be thinking, “really? In 3rd grade?” YES! Mr. Stout, our tech teacher, has great aspirations and a very high expectations bar for pushing our elementary students into the 21st century. Today they were working with the ReCon Programmable Rover.  It is a super cool piece of technology.

The thing that I was most excited about, however, was Mr. Stout’s report of my kids’ behavior. He said they did an amazing job working together. The fifth grade students completing the same activity this week didn’t get nearly as far because they couldn’t collaborate. This is exactly what I wanted to hear of my kids and what I’ve been working on with my class.

IMG_1607 IMG_1608 IMG_1609 IMG_1610 IMG_1611

Leave a Reply

