Why Should I Worry?

My students are always surprising me. My job will never be boring because I just never know what the kids are going to do! Part of my experiment this year is to relinquish control of my classroom bit by bit. When I designed my room there were several things I was concerned about, but decided to do anyway. And it turns out that I had no reason to be worried.

Here were some of my initial concerns:

IMG_9375

I thought that the kids would be forever knocking over the desks since they were free standing and not in pods, but *knock on wood* we have not had one desk go down so far this year. The kids have more room to walk around and don’t bump into the desks as often as they did when I had 25 desks.

IMG_9374

Last year my kids were always shoving random stuff into their desks: trash, worksheets, pencils, toys. The kids keep all their belongings in their cubbies so the few desks I have out are empty. I thought for sure I would find stuff in them all the time, but that is not the case! They are always empty.

IMG_9376

 

I was very nervous about this, but I created a nook behind my library. Normally I wouldn’t have a spot in the room I couldn’t see with just a quick glance. I was sure my “troublemakers” would hide out back there. But I have not had any issues in this corner at all. In fact, many of my students that could potentially be trouble makers choose to sit in the corner by themselves so they won’t get distracted. YAY!

So my point is keep your expectations high and hold your kids to them, and don’t assume your kids can’t handle something until they prove they can’t. They just might surprise you 🙂

 

 

One response to “Why Should I Worry?

  1. The idea that we should set high expectations and hold our students to them because they might surprise us, really resonates with me. I like the perspective that views our students as our partners in this journey of learning. Granted, we have the formal education and a decade or two of experience in comparison to them, but teachers are ALWAYS learning, too. You demonstrate this truth in a few of your posts as you recall data from student surveys, which I also absolutely LOVED! Great job!!

Leave a Reply

